top of page

FOLLOW

  • Instagram
  • iTunes Social Icon
  • Spotify Social Icon

RECENT POSTS: 

The Easiest Breakfast You'll Love All Week

We all know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and for me it's usually my biggest. It gives me a boost bigger than a venti matcha, and is pretty imperative for my morning supplement intake (I have 100% vommed while walking my dog because I thought a morning shake would be sustenance enough for the 10 capsules I take first thing. It wasn't). Unfortunately, most of us have jobs that start in the morning, and if you're like me, you will do EVERYTHING to barter with your alarm clock for just a few more minutes, and that usually leads to bad morning meal time prep. Unless you can get a significant other to make you breakfast while you begrudgingly wash your hair and whine that life isn't fair (man that was nice!), your best bet is to plan ahead. These little guys take about forty minutes with prep to make, are protein packed to give you that long lasting morning energy, and though they're not half bad right out of the fridge, a twenty second pop in a microwave makes them taste just-made. I make a dozen of them Sunday night, pair one with a shake or smoothie, or pop two of them if I REALLY want to snooze and skip any breakfast prep in order to maximize my Zzz time. Blah blah, here's my step by step recipe for an easier morning with these easy egg muffins:

WhatYou'lL Need: Hardware: - Muffin Tin - Large, Non-Stick Pan w/lid - Large Mixing Bowl - Hand Whisk / Fork Grocery: - 1/2 Dozen Large Eggs (they say cage free just tastes better...I agree) - 1 cup Milk (regular, non-flavored soy or other nut milk will work)

- 1 6-8 oz bag of Spinach - 1 cup Cherry Tomatoes, halved and quartered ( I prefer to use a mix of all different colors and

varieties, but if it's red, it's just as good! )

- 1/2 Large Yellow or Sweet Onion, diced up to you, you can use red if that's what you're in to

- Cheddar Cheese; block or shredded use whatever sharpness you'd like; pepper jack can be

used to; its really all preference **Optional: Nutritional Yeast** I use that shit on everything

though!

- 3 Cloves Garlic, chopped

- 1 can black beans, drained I prefer no sodium; you do you

- 1/2 cup Mushrooms I didn't use them in this recipe, but they're so damn good! I would advise

using 1/2 the black beans if you're going to mush it up though for density's sake. You can

throw in sausage or bacon if you want as well

- salt, pepper, tumeric and sazon (without anatto) to taste - *Optional* fresh sage - *Optional* hemp/flax seeds Directions:

1. Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.

Lightly grease your muffin tin with evoo, or straight up butter to taste. I avoid using things like PAM buttery spray because palm oil is bad yo. 2. Warm a few tsp of cooking oil over med or med-high heat. I like my veggies to have that sweet and amazing browning flavor, so I start at a med high heat, and reduce it to med. Go straight med all the way if you're not a fan.

3. Sauté tomatoes and onions with salt and pepper to desired tenderness. After I brown the onions and tomatoes and return the pan to med heat, I'll cover them and let them simmer for about 5 minutes. Perfection. While that's happening, introduce step 4 and 5 into your life. 4. In your mixing bowl, crack the eggs and add your milk. Add Salt and Pepper, a dash of tumeric, and half a packet of the magic that is Sazon. 5. Whisk eggs and milk with a hand whisk until yolks, milk and seasonings are blended.

NOT BLENDED

BLENDED 6. and 7. Uncover your veggie pan and give the contents a few stirs. Throw in your garlic towards the bottom of the pan. Garlic browns very easily, so I suggest stirring every few seconds until it begins to brown lightly. Add your black beans; stir.

8. Stir in that glorious spinach. Stir it in once or twice - just until it's only partially wilted, and all of your veggies are co-mingling.

9. Stir in the cheese. Stir until it begins to melt in with dem veggies. Do not weep.

10. Once everything is pretty well blended, and any liquid from the spinach cooking is out of your pan, transfer a few fork-fulls of this deliciousness into your muffin tin, evenly distributing into each muffin cup. 11. Pour in egg mixture. Evenly distribute into each cup. 12. With a fork, whisk the contents of each muffin cup slowly. This will distribute that gooey, eggy binding force throughout your veggies, and raise them from the bottom so it's not a half egg, half veggie disappointment.

**Optional** This is where I would throw in hemp or flax seeds, maybe dust it with some nutri yeast or sriracha if you're feeling fancy, and I chopped maybe four small fresh sage leaves and mixed those in. New research has shown that sage actually has the ability to improve short term memory! 13. Bake for 20 minutes. Insert your muffin tray in to your preheated oven. Bake for 20 minutes, and LET THEM COOL thoroughly before you try removing them from the tin! Pack them up in a Tupperware, or throw them in individual bags before tossing them in the fridge, and you just made your morning self SO much happier! I would absolutely love to hear feedback on what you added or omitted to your version! E-mail me under my "contact" tab, or leave a comment in the comment section!

bottom of page